top of page

Cold-Brewed Murder by Neila Young


Halloween is just days away. Blake is getting ready for a fun little Halloween party at her café, Mystery Cup, and trying to decide between her two beaus as to who is FINALLY going to make a move. Because let’s be honest…they both have her feeling like she’s stuck in the “friend zone.” The last thing that Blake expects is to witness a murder across the street in an empty loft...a clown stabbing the Phantom of the Opera. She actually saw it, but the downside? Since no one else saw it, no body was discovered when police checked it out…few really believe that it actually happened. But what is Blake to do when said the same clown makes an appearance to frighten her? Then there are unsettling rumors about holding companies buying up real estate in downtown. What is really going on?

"Cold-Brewed Murder" by Neila Young is book two in her Coffee Cup Mysteries series. This is the first book that I have read by this author and overall I really enjoyed it! Blake, her sister, and her family are a fun group of characters. I love the familial connection that they have for each and how they do their best to look out for each other. It’s fun to read about how they each push each other’s buttons. Blake is a determined woman when it comes to figuring out the mystery. I love how the author gives the reader little tidbits to piece together as Blake gets them. I loved the OMG moments that are sprinkled throughout. The mystery of this novel is compelling and thoroughly engaging.

The only complaint that I have concerning this book is that I only get snippets of what Blake looks like. I may have missed a more thorough character description of her somewhere, but I don’t remember it. I got descriptions of all the other characters, and I liked that. I will also say I’m in a bit of a fog as to how she makes her choice between her men, but maybe I just need to read the first book to see how it all begins.

I am rating this book overall 4.5 out of 5 stars. The pacing for this story overall is good. It does slow-down in places, and I’ll admit that I lost steam in those moments, but it becomes captivating again. This book does end on a bit of a cliffhanger setting things up for more and so I’m looking forward to the next book from this author. If you enjoy a good mystery, with engaging characters, and yummy treats then I recommend this book!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page