top of page

Jealousy Filled Donuts by Ginger Bolton


"Jealousy Filled Donuts" by Ginger Bolton is the third book in the Deputy Donut Mystery series. In addition, it is the second book that I have read by this author. As with the second book in the series, "Goodbye Cruller World", I found the story easy to read as well as follow, though I must admit that it took me a good long while to figure out whodunit. Which in all honesty, is just the way I like my cozy mysteries. Ms. Bolton’s writing made this reader want to continue reading on and on until I had consumed the entire book, regardless of time or the need for sleep. So…to describe why this happened I must indicate that I enjoyed getting to know the characters more, especially Emily, the owner of Deputy Donuts (along with her father in law Tom). As well - the story was well told and flowed easily.

I found the events leading up to the actual murder quite funny. I say this because we have a parade and the queen of the parade is throwing a hissy fit of sorts and it just had me chuckling. Thought what does one expect from high school kids? Of note, the advancement of the relationship (of sorts) between Emily and Brett was noticeable. Brett was a bit more accepting of Emily and the help she provided on the case. And possibly is she melting a bit as well? I know it is difficult with Emily being a widow of a police officer, but she must move on and if she fancies another policeman, so be it. Time will tell! The addition to the staff at Deputy Donuts of Jocelyn was good, after all, Emily and Tom need a reprieve from the donut shop once in awhile - don’t they. I do hope Jocelyn remains in the picture for a few more books to come. Needless to say, I definitely enjoyed the cover art. Though I am a sucker for a cute kitty. So hopefully the wait for the next installment of the Deputy Donut Mystery series is not too far off in the future as I have come to enjoy this series.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page