top of page

A Case for the Winemaker by Candace Havens

In the late 2000’s, (doesn’t that sound so long ago), I read the two books in Candace Havens’ Caruthers Sisters series, "The Demon King and I" and "Dragons Prefer Blondes". I was disappointed

when more didn’t come out. So when I saw that Havens had a new cozy mystery series, I knew I wanted to read it. First off, George Clooney, the Great Dane, steals the show. The way he talks, grunts, and knows what people are saying is so true to that breed. And I love that the whole town is down to help with the murder board even though it’s supposed to be a secret. It starts off with the book club members, then Ainsley’s college students jump in, and then the rest of the town. I’ve found more cozies incorporating murder boards recently, which I love. I wonder if the authors got the idea from the various Hallmark Mystery Movies that use them, or from Trial and Error, a two season comedy TV show, that I absolutely loved.

The mystery was done well, but I felt like it could have used a few more suspects, just because to me it was obvious early on who the killer was. But that did not stop me from enjoying "A Case for the Winemaker". With all the characters, the artisanal gallery, and the adorable town in Texas, Havens has tons of potential for future books. I’m looking forward to getting to know the book club members more, and already some of the college students are really pulling their weight when it comes to assisting Ainsley with her investigating. In most cozies you have some law official who tells the amaetur sleuth to stay away from the crime, and in this series it’s her brother. I’m glad he didn’t go overboard with his demands and realized he needed to find ways to help her stay safe. And there are so many alpha males, who play nicely with each other, in this book that it adds a dollop of deliciousness to the story. It’ll be interesting to see if Ainsley’s attraction for any of them heats up in the future. A fun start to a new cozy series and I’m looking forward to book two, "A Case for the Yarn Maker", which comes out on April 16, 2020.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page