top of page

The Puccini Connection by Sam Bond

"The Puccini Connection" by Sam Bond is the first book that I have read by this author and I have to say that the first line that I read in this book literally had me snickering. When the author introduces me to Josie, the main character, and she has a drunk Scots man drawlin' at her that he loves her I almost busted up laughing. My first thought was...1) where is she? 2) How did she get herself into this predicament in the first place? LOL! Well, the author is quick to answer both my questions. She's at a wedding and as most people know...a lot can happen at a wedding...including such hilarious situations.

The story moves forward from there and I like how the author weaves the story together. Josie is a British expat living in the United States, but is visiting Britain for a wedding. Her mother, whom she's not on the best of terms with, gets a call from Josie's Aunt Rose. Josie makes plans to visit and then things go south. I love the air of mystery that swirls through this book. Josie arrives at her aunt's town, only for her aunt not be at the train station to get her. My first thought...something foul is a foot...well, I wasn't too far off, but not completely right. LOL! I have to say that I loved that aspect. The author kept me on my toes with this book because I'd be ready to think "predictable moment" and the author would give it an unexpected twist. These twists definitely helped keep me engaged in the story.

I also like the setting in a small village. You get the small town feel and all the gossip mill that comes with it. Though I'd hardly call it a "gossip mill"...more like a "gossip wildfire" because it spreads so

quickly.

The only thing that I didn't really like about this book is how weak at times that Josie comes off. I know it's mostly on me because I've read so many books with strong female characters that finding one who isn't as "strong" as them is a shift for me. I just didn't like all her fainting! I mean...you find yourself in a potentially dangerous situation and you go from "not fainting a lot" to fainting quite often? I started to think...she's not going to make it! Plus, I didn't like her bolting when someone said something disparaging about her aunt. I wanted her to push down that reaction and instead learn WHY they felt that way.

All in all, I honestly enjoyed this book and so I am rating this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. I'd definitely read another book by this author. I love the British immersion that I get with this book and if you enjoy reading fun cozy mystery novels with a musical connection then I encourage you to read this book.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page