top of page

A Scandal in Scarlet by Vicki Delany


I’ve read several of Vicki Delany’s books before, so I knew I was in for a treat when I started this one. Gemma discovers a dead body during a fundraising event next door at Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room. Although she that she is determined not to investigate in order to avoid having more issues with her currently on-again boyfriend, she is very easily convinced to make some inquiries. First, I have to say that this series is easily picked up mid-way or out-of-order. Although I’ve read the first book, I haven’t read the second and third ones. However, I had no difficulty keeping up with the characters and the backstory. I did like that Gemma’s character has developed in that she is aware of some of her faults that came out in the book I previously read and seems to be working to try to overcome them. Second, I’ve always loved Sherlock Holmes, and I truly enjoy picking up the small references throughout the book, whether it’s obvious like the title or a more obscure reference to some of Uncle ‘Arthur’s’ past adventures. The author clearly has fun with the references and puns and scatters them throughout the story for a light-hearted touch. Lastly, but most importantly, is the mystery itself. Although this is definitely a cozy mystery, it was a lot more intricate than I expected, and I honestly did not guess the villain. There was a lot more going on behind the scenes than I expected and even a secondary mystery that confused the clues even more. I really enjoyed all aspects of this mystery, and I look forward to reading a lot more by this author!

I received a copy of this book from the author through Cozy Mystery Review Crew in exchange for an honest review. (Chewie's note: If you'd like to receive free hard copies of cozies to review, join us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozymysteryreview/.)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page