top of page

Death by Design by Paula Darnell


"Death by Design" is the second book in the DIY Diva Mystery, but it is easily read as a standalone book. I did not read the first in this series and had no problems following and enjoying this story. The protagonist, Laurel McMillan, is teaching several classes at the community center and is encouraging her students to enter some contests. She is quite happy for Jennifer when she wins both the pillow and room makeover contests. Her happiness quickly changes to sympathy when Jennifer's husband Matt is found dead in the guest room at their home during the book club meeting. There is no shortage of suspects as there were about a dozen people in the house when he was suffocated. When Edna, a neighborhood resident and nurse, is arrested for his murder, she asks Laurel to help find the real killer so she can be freed. Laurel does not like Edna much, but she has her doubts that she is guilty so reluctantly begins to ask questions. I enjoyed this story very much. There were a few things happening that added interest to the story. There is the murder, some issues with the finances of a non-profit charity, and Wes, Laurel's boyfriend, has to rush home to Phoenix as his father has suffered a major heart attack. All these events blend smoothly into a well-written story that I really enjoyed. There were quite a few characters, but there was enough information about them that I had no problems keeping them straight. There were a lot of suspects due to the fact that Matt was not a well-liked man, and there were times I thought I had it figured out, only to find out that I was wrong. The final reveal was not a total surprise as I had begun to lean towards that suspect, but I was never positive. The final showdown was not a dangerous situation like other cozies I read, which actually made it believable. I enjoyed the setting, the characters, the mystery and the side stories quite a bit. I will definitely watch for more books in the DIY Diva Mystery series. If you enjoy a fun cozy with some good food and crafting tips, then pick up Death by Design.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page