top of page

Deck the Donuts by Ginger Bolton

by Chewie the Mouse


I was initially attracted to "Deck the Donuts" by the absolutely charming cover! A cat, holiday treats, snow falling in the background....what could be more appealing? I'm so glad I decided to read this one, and the inside was every bit as appealing as the exterior.


First off, I should say that this is the sixth book in the series, but the first one I have read. I didn't feel lost or like I was missing something at all. The author provided everything I needed to know to jump right in with this book; it works perfectly well as a stand-alone.


I really enjoyed the small-town setting. I loved the descriptions of local businesses, events, and holiday traditions. The way the residents genuinely cared about others and tried to be kind and helpful was heartwarming. Even though it's only October, I'm definitely in the mood for Christmas now. This sweet small town provided the motivation for me to start thinking about decorating!


The mystery itself was excellent! Even though the victim was from elsewhere, there were plenty of locals who had reasons to wish him harm. Lots of non-locals were stranded in town, adding to the suspect pool. I enjoyed this mix of suspects, and the way the author directed suspicion in multiple directions. Once everything was revealed at the end all the clues the reader gathered along the way made sense.


I enjoyed reading about main character Emily. One interesting note is that, despite this being Book 6, her romance is still in the very early stages. I might have missed something due to not having read the earlier books, but I get the sense that she has been single and not romantically involved so far. This is a nice change of pace for a cozy, and I appreciate the focus on a single woman who is focusing on her job, her friends, and herself without having a love interest at all times.


I'm happily rating "Deck the Donuts" five out of five wedges of creamy Brie!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page