top of page

Wining and Dying by Daryl Wood Gerber

by Amanda Hash, guest reviewer



This is my favorite book in the series so far...but then again, I say that every time. This is--by far--one of the most enjoyable series that I've read, and I get ridiculously excited when a new book comes out. Luckily, Daryl Wood Gerber never disappoints.


Jenna is the best amateur sleuth out there, mostly because she's very honest about how often she's sticking her nose in where it doesn't belong. I think that's the best part of the Cookbook Nook characters-- they are so realistic, so authentic, that I truly lose myself in the story. I love the dynamic between Jenna and Cinnamon, especially as their relationship evolves as they work together(ish) to find justice. And at this point, I am just completely invested in the town of Crystal Cove and its residents.


This book was filled with red herrings and plenty of twists and turns (and DRAMA) to keep me guessing whodunit until the very end. And while I strongly, STRONGLY recommend starting at the beginning of the series and reading your way through (it will feel like visiting with friends by the time you reach this one), the story still works as a standalone read if this is your introduction to the Cookbook Nook.


(The recipes included in the book are a fantastic bonus, by the way. I had my fingers crossed that the asparagus-gruyere tart would be one of them; I started drooling over it as soon as it was mentioned-- and it is!! I can't wait to try it.)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page